The Novice Cook: Rhubarb and Ginger Fool with Ginger Biscuit Crumble

by thomandaimee

I have a confession to make: I cannot live without having at least one dessert each day. Best meals are when dessert is served after dessert (some restaurants do that) or when a platter of beautiful sugary items sit on on a buffet display. With N in charge of all the sweets at home, my taste buds are blessed with countless confections. (Bad luck to my diabetic genes. And tummy.)

For the past Novice Cook entries, the dishes have all been of a savoury nature. Cooking might be daunting, but stepping into dolce territory was nerve wrecking. I felt almost like Matsumoto Jun when he was tasked to prepare the desserts for kitchen service in Bambino – intrusive and foreign. Having no experience and even lesser interaction with rhubarb, it already sounds like a recipe for disaster.

After trimming and washing the rosy pink stems, I peeled them not knowing if that was necessary. (Anyone can tell me if this was needed?) They were then chopped into pieces and popped into a saucepan with sugar. Because rhubarb is filled with so much moisture, sometimes water is not needed. Their own juices absorb the melted sugar, creating a beautiful mass of the pinkest blush. I gushed ‘きれい’ as the stems slowly released the sticky liquid. Then I covered the saucepan. Probably a bad decision because two seconds later, the pieces disintegrated into stringy pulp. Still very pretty though.

Whipping up the yoghurt and cream into a mixture was probably the most labourious task in the whole recipe. I concluded that N must have superbly toned arms after all the baking, because my arms could barely hold the mixer for barely a minute. The mixture was whipped till soft peaks were formed, or I thought they looked like peaks. Had my fair share of watching cooking shows to identify what they are. The rhubarb was added in later and topped with crunchy ginger biscuits, which gave the fool some bite.

Reflections on my first dessert? It’s definitely a lot more to do then it looked on paper, but as always, the end result always make all the work worthy. N thought the taste was good, but if the rhubarb had not broken down, the dessert would have more texture. Well, not bad then, for a noob like me.

Recipe can be found in Hugh’s Fearnley Whittingstall’s Three Good Things.

