The Novice Cook: Asparagus, Potatoes and Halloumi Cheese

by thomandaimee

While Ned stirred away her asparagus soup, I was adding to the kitchen chaos by preparing my own take on the asparagus. Having two chefs in one tiny kitchen can get a little crazy, especially when there was only one stove to use. Luckily, all I needed was our trusty oven to stir up this simple dish.

What’s so interesting is how these three different ingredients can come together so perfectly well. Both the asparagus and the potato share an earthy, nutty flavour; it was no wonder why they make fantastic partners. The recipe called for new potatoes, but I didn’t have those so I had to make do with regular ones. Most pair asparagus with hard cheeses like Parmesan, but Halloumi cheese was used here. I’ve never eaten Halloumi cheese before – it is a semi-hard cheese originating from Cyprus and can cook very well in high heat. The mild saltiness of the halloumi brought a lovely contrast and enhanced the sweet, sulfurous flavour of the asparagus.

I was pretty much out of Ned’s hair after 10 to 15 minutes into preparation as there was only cutting, baking and tossing involved. The only ‘special’ ingredient I had to get was the halloumi, which could probably be easily replaced with Parmesan. It can make for a wonderful tea time snack. Just pop the items in the oven, make yourself a cup of tea and when it’s ready, settle yourself in a comfy couch and a good read. I didn’t make a lot of this, but I hope I had… it was gobbled up almost too quickly. Now I need more halloumi.

Recipe can be found here.

